The Greater Kaweah Groundwater Sustainability Agency (Greater Kaweah GSA) was formed with the intent to comply with the 2014 Sustainable Groundwater Management Act (SGMA) and initiated their effort by executing a Joint Powers Agreement (JPA) on August 23, 2016.  The Greater Kaweah GSA became an “exclusive” GSA for the area of coverage by the California Department of Water Resources in August 2017.  The JPA members and partners consist of:

– Kaweah Delta Water Conservation District

– Kings County Water District

– Lakeside Irrigation Water District

– St. Johns Water District

– Tulare County

– California Water Service Company

The Greater is one of three GSAs formed in the Kaweah Subbasin that, in total, cover the entire Subbasin without overlap.  The three GSAs have each developed Groundwater Sustainability Plans (GSPs) and executed a Coordination Agreement for the Subbasin to utilize the same data and methodologies ensuring consistent interpretations of the Basin Setting.


Quick Links:

SGM Sustainable Groundwater Management

What’s Going On in Tulare County?

Additional Participating Agencies:
City of Exeter
City of Farmersville
City of Woodlake
Consolidated Peoples Ditch Company
Farmers Ditch Company
Fleming Ditch Company
Ivanhoe Public Utility District
Lemon Cove Ditch Company
Lemon Cove Sanitary District
Mathews Ditch Company
Patterson Tract Community Services District
Tract 92 Community Services District
Wallace Ranch Water Company

Translate »